Thursday, August 12, 2010

CD Review: Korn Wants You To "Remember Who You Are"

Heavy Metal band Korn return after a three year absence with "Korn III: Remember Who You Are" on Roadrunner Records. Also returning was producer Ross Robinson, who produced the band's first two albums. The sound on their latest release is "honest" without the use of Pro Tools to dissect songs. As front-man Jonathan Davis explains that the new album is "simple" and "not too overproduced." Korn is back to "just slamming people's faces like back in '94, '95, and '96."

Whether or not Davis planned on a concept for this album, one of solitude keeps coming up, like the lyrics of "leave me alone" from the album's lead-off single "Oildale (Leave Me Alone)." The one thing that stands out is how raw and powerful the music sounds on "Pop A Pill" and "Move On" without the need for any extra production. The energetic drumming on "Fear Is A Place To Live" is provided by the band's longtime live fill-in Ray Luzier, who is now a permanent member. Davis seems to be battling some inner demons in "Lead The Parade" as he sings about "righting the wrongs" of his "tormented life." The album's second single " Let The Guilt Go" stands out above the rest of the songs on the album with its heavy drumming and buzzing guitars.

The new album will please longtime fans with the band reverting to its heyday of the mid-nineties of just pure, heavy metal music. Korn are currently on tour as part of the Mayhem Festival before heading overseas at the end of August for 20 shows. The new album is out now, for more information, please visit

No comments: