Thursday, July 8, 2010

CD Review: Pierce The Veil Get "Selfish" On New Album

Pierce The Veil's newest release "Selfish Machines" was released on June 21 and is anything but a sophomore slump. Following Veil's 2007 acclaimed "A Flair For the Dramatic." the band recorded the follow-up at producer Mike Green's (Paramore) studio in Los Angeles.

Speed comes to mind with the album's lead-off track "Besitos." Metal guitars and quick drum beats is what gives this album the energy that Pierce The Veil are known for. Singer Vic Fuentes' vocals interchange from shouting to screaming on "The Boy Who Could Fly." The band's aggression shows through on "Caraphernelia," while the gentle "Stay Away From My Friends" displays another side of the band. The rhythm section of Mike Fuentes on drums and Jaime Preciado on bass provides the energy to songs "Fast Time At Clairemont High" and "Disasterology." Guitarist Tony Perry shines during the solos on "Bulletproof Love" and "The Sky Under The Sea."

Catch Pierce The Veil on July 11 at the Comcast Music Theater in Hartford, CT as one of the headliners of the Vans Warped Tour. Pierce The Veil's album "Selfish Machines" is available now on Equal Vision Records. For tour dates, merchandise and more, please visit

No comments: